News

Posted 28 January, 2021 by Sara Baker

Regional community calls: Social justice meets data + digital rights during Covid-19

Lee en español.

Recently, we announced a new project exploring intersectional partnerships between social justice and digital rights communities during the pandemic. As part of our research process, we’re holding regional community calls to chat with civil society and allies about what’s happening in each of these places.

We’re looking for activists, civil society folks, techies, NGO representatives and funders in these regions. We want to know what you’re seeing and experiencing at the intersection of social justice and data & digital rights (DDR), as your part of the world responds to the pandemic. 

Considerations we’re interested in discussing could emerge from questions like:

  • Are you worried that contact tracing apps might collect and reveal sensitive information about people in your community? Or that public health officials aren’t even collecting data on how your community has been affected by Covid-19? 
  • Is your community being further excluded from education and employment due to lack of internet access or discriminatory remote proctoring? 
  • If your work has gone fully remote, are you facing an increase in online harassment, worried about the security of the information you collect and create, or silenced by state surveillance? 
  • Are you supporting a social justice organisation that is struggling with a digital transformation?

Whether you’re working on justice related to gender, sexuality, race/ethnicity, disability, migration, income, incarceration and policing, climate (and more!), come and talk to us about your experiences. Whether you’ve observed or experienced meaningful intersectional work between DDR and other social justice communities in the past or the pandemic has forced you to face the need for such collaboration, we want to hear from you! 

Details on joining the calls

Latin America: Tuesday, February 9, 3 pm BRT / 12 pm CST, in Portuguese and Spanish (split into breakout groups by language)

Sub Saharan Africa: Wednesday, February 10, 3 pm SAST, in English 

Western Europe: Tuesday, February 16, 1 pm GMT / 2 pm CET, in English

United States: Wednesday, February 17, 11 am EST / 8 am PST, in English

To register, please email Sara Baker at sbaker[at]theengineroom.org with your name, region and email address, so that we can email you the call-in details.

If you’re unable to join us but want to share from your context, we’re happy to speak with you. Get in touch with us at sbaker[at]theengineroom.org or tweet @engnroom.

Image by Hillary Ungson via Unsplash.

1 thought on “Regional community calls: Social justice meets data + digital rights during Covid-19”

[…] partnerships between social justice communities and digital rights communities during the pandemic, we’ve been talking with activists, civil society folks, techies, NGO representatives and funders in Latin America, […]

Leave a Reply to Social justice + digital rights during Covid-19: barriers to collaboration | The Engine Room Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related articles